According to Idaho Car Seat Law, children must be secured in a rear-facing car seat, forward-facing car seat, or a booster seat depending on their age until they are 8 years old and at least 4’9″ tall. They may move on to a booster seat and must wear a full shoulder and lap belt when they are older and taller.
As per a research conducted by the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention), road traffic crashes are a leading cause of death in the United states for people ages 1 to 54. Statistics like this are the reason why car seat laws are passed.
As a parent, your child’s safety is your top priority. But are you familiar with Idaho’s car seat laws? Or at what age or weight can you stop using a car seat? All this information can be overwhelming but we are here to help. Join us as we take a closer look at this law and ensure your child’s safety on the road.
Idaho’s Commitment to Car Seat Safety
Several of the rules followed by other states are mirrored in Idaho’s car seat laws. The main goal is to ensure that safety requirements are strictly met and to protect children from harm during car rides. Additionally, this also helps instill a habit of practicing road safety and responsible driving for impressionable children.
Parents and other adults who provide for the needs of children can help to lower the risk of injury and ensure a safe and comfortable ride for their passengers by abiding by the regulations. Such as the weight requirement when it comes to sitting in the front seat in Idaho. It is important to note that while there is no specific weight requirement, it is recommended that they move on to the front seat at the age of 13 and above, which is approximately between 75 and 145 pounds, the typical weight of a 13 year old child.
For the best possible safety of their children, parents might choose to follow the car seat regulations for a considerable amount of time even when the child has passed the recommended age limit. In order to give their children the best protection, some parents, for example, want to put them in a rear-facing seat for longer than the advised two years. While deciding whether to switch to a forward-facing or keep the child in a rear-facing car seat, parents also take into account the child’s size, growth, and development.
What is Idaho Code 49 672?
Idaho Code 48 672 is implemented to ensure passenger safety for children. Its core rule is that no noncommercial vehicle can transport a child who is six (6) years or younger in a car with seat belts, unless the child is properly secured in a child safety restraint.
Children, especially at a younger age are fragile and easily injured, compared to adults, since their bodies are still developing. All these rules and regulations keep the passengers safe inside the car.
By following the Idaho Car Seat Laws, parents and guardians can significantly reduce the risk or injuries or even fatalities in the event of a car accident. It is important to not only understand but also follow these laws, as they have been carefully designed to provide maximum safety and protection to all passengers in the vehicle.
Idaho Rear-Facing Car Seat Laws
Idaho car seat law requires all toddlers to have a dedicated rear-facing car seat while in the vehicle. the child must remain in this car seat until they are two years old.
The child may turn around when they reach the height and weight limit on the car seat. If the child does not reach this limit by the time they are 2, they must remain rear-facing.
Some car seat models will have higher weight and height limits than others. Check with your particular make and model to see what these are, along to see what the rear-facing weight limit is if your car seat can be used as a forward-facing and a rear-facing model.
If the child is still under the height and weight limit when they reach their second birthday, the decision is up to the parents. Parents may choose to keep their child rear-facing for longer.
Forward Facing Car Seat Laws In Idaho
Idaho car seat law allows children who reach the maximum height and weight requirements on the car seat to turn forward-facing. Once your child turns two, they may also face forward in the car.
For smaller children, the parents may choose to wait longer before using a forward-facing car seat. Many parents choose to wait until their child reaches the maximum height and weight requirements on the car seat.
The child must stay in this forward-facing seat until they reach the maximum limits for weight and height. This will depend on the age and size of the child. Most forward-facing car seats are designed to hold up to 40 to 65 pounds. This generally keeps the child in the forward-facing car seat until they are at least four years old.
Idaho Booster Car Seats Law
When your child reaches maximum weight and height limit, approximately 4 to at least 8 years old and reach the height of 4,9”, you can now move them to a booster car seat, according to the Idaho car seat law. They can only stop using a booster seat when they reach the age of 8 or older and at least 4’9” and above
Parents have a variety of choices to pick from when it’s time to finally move on to a booster seat, as long as the booster seat requirements in Idaho are met. They can choose between a model that has an added back support system, and as the child develops and grows, a booster seat without the back may be the better option.
A full shoulder and lap belt to be used by children in booster seats is required in compliance with the Idaho car seat law. Because using just the lap belt will not be enough, and doing so will endanger the child.
What Are The Height And Weight Requirements For a Booster Seat in Idaho?
The height requirement for a booster sit is 4’9″. Weight is going to vary based on the particular brand and model of the booster seat. However, you can check if the child is ready by using this online checker.
If the Child is Older than 8 Years Old?
Idaho car seat laws state that children older than eight years old and at least 4’9” may ride in a vehicle without a booster seat. The child must always wear a seat belt when the vehicle is in motion. This will help keep them safe. All passengers and drivers in the vehicle, regardless of age, must wear the seat belt.
Children should remain in the back of the seat as long as possible, this spot is the safest place for your child when something unexpected happens. The Idaho car seat law does not state the exact age when children may begin sitting in the front seat, but Department and children safety experts recommend that the child sit on the front seat at age 13.
Parents may choose, for the safety of their child, to keep them in the booster seat for longer. Follow all recommendations and requirements on the car seat to enhance safety.
Idaho Car Seat Laws in Trucks
Idaho car seat laws require the same rules for car seats in trucks as they do in other vehicles. Children must still stay in the rear-facing and forward-facing car seats based on their height and weight limits.
To prevent any injuries, try to keep all car seats away from active airbags. Make sure to use the shoulder and lap belt on all children who will occupy a booster seat.
If possible, make your child sit on the back seat, as this spot is the safest. If all the space in the back is taken by younger children, then the oldest may sit in the front.
Exceptions to the Idaho Car Seat Law
If all the seat belt positions in the vehicle are in use, then the child should be placed in the rear seat of the vehicle if it has one.
If the child is removed from the seat, it should only be because the car ride is over, and they have to get out of the vehicle or if the mother has to attend to their needs.
Penalties For Violating Car Seat Laws
If a child isn’t in a safety seat, the penalty is an $84.00 fine. Subsequent violations carry a $90.00 fine.
Idaho car seat laws for Buses Taxis and Uber
Seat belts are not a requirement when it comes to buses, however, school bus drivers are required to get specific and specialized training in order to operate this vehicle. They have to have a CDL license, and two endorsements for it – one for driving a school bus, and another for driving a school bus with passengers.
Car seats are still required to be used when riding in taxis or ride sharing vehicles. If the vehicle does not have one built-in, the adult will need to bring their own in order for the child to ride.
Installing the Car Seat Properly
Idaho car seat laws require vehicle owners to install the car seat properly before use, doing so will help keep the child safe in the event of an accident and minimize injuries.
Follow the instructions thoroughly from the manufacturer guide on how to properly install the chosen car seat, instructions such as placing the seat belt through the car seat at the belt path and making sure the seat belt and LATCH are both safe. Doing so will ensure the child’s safety.
You can also test the car seat and make sure it stays in place. Try moving the car seat back and forth and up and down. If it moves more than an inch in any direction, it is not completely secure and you must fix this immediately.
Previous Idaho Car Seat Law
Previous Idaho car seat laws required children to ride in rear-facing car seats from birth until at least age 1 or 20 pounds, front-facing or convertible car seats from age 1 to age 6 or 40 pounds, and to use a lap and shoulder belt from age 6 to 15.
The Idaho car seat laws are in place to help keep your child safe while on the road. It is important to follow them to not only avoid penalties and fees but to prevent any injuries.
Road accidents are one of the leading causes of deaths each year, resulting in millions of fatalities on roadways around the world, according to a study made by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. A lot of factors add up to this, such as drunk driving, speeding or even driving skill, and the worst thing is children are often involved in these accidents.
In 2020, 607 children aged 12 and under lost their lives in vehicle crashes, which is a worrying number. And the sad thing is that a lot of people neglect one of the most important things when it comes to children’s safety, which is getting a dedicated car seat for their child. They fail to realize that seatbelts weren’t designed for children.
This tragic study emphasizes how important it is to abide by the safety regulations in order to prevent such things from happening again in the future, and is the main point on why Idaho Car Safety Laws are implemented.
These car seat laws are minimums that parents should consider when they are transporting their children. It is always safer to prolong each phase depending on your child and their personal needs.
When the car seat laws are used properly, everyone can be a little safer on the road. Any time you drive through Idaho, or if you live there, make sure to check out the car seat laws before you drive.