Category

Car Seat Laws

Category

Whether you live in the area, or plan to visit, it is important to know the laws about smoking in South Carolina. Nothing is worse than getting an unexpected fine when you are out and about enjoying a cruise ride. We all have heard the dangers of smoking, but is smoking in your car with a child illegal? In South Carolina it is legal to smoke in a car with a child. Currently, there is…

Being a caregiver for a tiny human is challenging. And one of the most frustrating things is the car seat. There are so many straps and buttons that you must push and pull to get a child secured…not to mention doing this with a wriggly toddler. It is tempting to forgo the car seat to avoid the hassle, however, there are serious repercussions that can happen in doing so. There is a penalty in every…

Parents have responsibilities to ensure safety during driving, whether your child is an infant or a nine-year-old. Usually, children from ages four to eight are more likely to suffer from injuries in a car accident. People can prevent these injuries and deaths if both children and adults use seat belts correctly. Texas’s vehicle and seat belt safety laws of Texas are quite strict, especially when it comes to age limits of sitting in the front…

Car seats drastically increase a child’s chance of surviving an automobile accident. They also reduce the risk of permanent injury.  Every state implements laws regarding car seat usage to increase car seat compliance. In Mississippi, the laws are meant to encourage proper, safe use rather than punish. Children under 7 years old must be in a child safety restraint. Unfortunately, Mississippi’s car seat laws do not meet the minimum recommendations by the American Academy of…

Allowing your children to sit in the front seat with you during a drive exposes them to extremely hazardous situations. A lot can go wrong but the most unfortunate is a high risk of getting fatal head injuries. According To California law, a child can sit in the front seat from the ages of 8 years to 13 years or is up to 4 feet 9 inches. It’s also important how they fit into the…

New Mexico implements many car seat laws to protect children’s lives. If you live in New Mexico and you want to drive with your children in the car, then you must abide by all of New Mexico’s car seat laws. New Mexico’s car seat laws exist to keep your children safe and protect them if an accident happens.  In New Mexico, any child that is under the age of eighteen must use a child passenger…

The State of Nevada’s seat belt and car seat safety program is named “Zero Fatalities – Drive Safe Nevada”. This program is constantly revising best practices and updating laws accordingly when it comes to car safety. This article will go over Nevada’s car seat laws from birth to adolescence, and beyond.  The law of Nevada mandates that any child less than 6 years of age and weighing less than 60 pounds must ride in an…

Washington State car seat laws are in place to help keep your child safe while on the road. Even if you are a good driver, others on the road may not be as cautious, and things do happen.  The Washington car seat laws require children under the age of 2 to use a rear-facing car seat. Children between the age of 2 and 4 may sit in the proper forward-facing car seat. Children four and…

New York State car seat laws are meant to help keep your child safe in a car. Following these laws is best for your child.  New York State car seat laws require infants and younger children to sit in an approved car seat. Children four to seven must sit in a booster seat. And all children older than eight must use a seat belt.  It is also best for children to sit in the back…

Georgia car seat laws are in place to help keep children safe. Following these not only help you avoid fines and points on your driver’s license, but will make sure your child doesn’t sustain major injuries.  Georgia car seat laws require all infants to stay rear-facing in the car seat. Children ages two to three must stay in the rear-facing car seat if they have not reached 20 pounds yet. Parents may choose to keep…