In this detailed Graco my ride 65 review, we would look at all aspects of this car seat. Overall, we found the Graco My Ride 65, to be the budget-friendly, convertible car seat option.

For more than 60 years, Graco products have been “made for babies, loved by parents.” The extensive line of car seats Graco currently offers are regularly crash tested to keep up with the ever-changing safety recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).

You can be confident that your child will be as safe as possible when he is riding in any of the car seats Graco currently offers.

Price Comparison

My Ride 65 Basics

The Graco My Ride 65 is a standard, two-way car seat, meaning you can use it in a rear-facing and a forward-facing (with harness) position. 

This convertible car seat is not only easy to use, safe, and affordable, but it also comes in a variety of neutral fabric choices. Sully, Go Green, and Sylvia fabrics are sure to match most styles and tastes.

  • Use as a rear-facing and a forward-facing safety seat.
  • Affordable
  • Three fabric choices


Safety Features

Current AAP safety recommendations and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommend that children ride in a rear-facing position until they are at least two years old. 

Furthermore, the AAP and NHTSA suggest that parents keep kids secured in a forward-facing car seat with a harness until they reach the maximum height and weight limits for their seats.

The My Ride 65 supports both recommendations by keeping kids in the rear-facing position up to 40 pounds and forward-facing (with harness) up to 65 pounds.

Additional safety features help keep kids as protected as possible in case of a crash.  EPS Energy-Absorbing Foam provides extra side-impact protection, and LATCH (Lower Anchors and Tethers for Children) straps also help ease installation. 

My Ride 65 also has a level indicator to make sure the seat is installed at the proper angle and is FAA approved for airplane travel.

Key Safety Features

  • EPS Energy-Absorbing Foam
  • LATCH
  • Level indicator
  • FAA approved

Safety Ratings

  • Rear-facing weight range = 4-40 pounds
  • Forward-facing weight range = 20-65 pounds
  • Height range = under 50 inches

User-Friendly Features

You’ll be happy to know that in addition to safety, the Graco My Ride 65 also comes with a slew of user-friendly features that parents love. 

A removable infant insert and toddler headrest keep smaller kids more comfortable, adjust the five-point harness from the front of the seat, and use the three harness length settings to help kids of different sizes fit snuggly.  

My Ride 65 includes two built-in cup holders to keep drinks and snacks within an arm’s reach.  The fabric cover can also be easily removed and washed when life inevitably happens.

Key User-Friendly Features

  • Removable infant insert
  • Front-adjust harness
  • Three harness length settings
  • Two integrated cup holders
  • Machine-washable cover

Frustrations

Graco My Ride 65 Convertible Car SeatAs with any convertible car seat, the Graco My Ride 65 also has it’s set of difficulties.  Parent reviews claim that the LATCH strap is hard to use, which makes installation challenging. 

Furthermore, many parents complain that they can’t get the LATCH strap tight enough for safety’s sake. 

Parents also mention that the My Ride 65 is unusually wide. It may not be a great choice for anyone with a compact car or for those of us who need to put multiple car seats in the same row.

Parents also indicate that once you remove the infant insert, My Ride 65 doesn’t have enough padding.  Since it’s on the inexpensive end of the spectrum, users also criticize that it lacks some of the comfort features that other seats have like recline options and harness padding.

When choosing a convertible car seat, be aware that they have one similar pitfall, they are not compatible with any travel system or stroller.  This will be a deal-breaker for parents with newborns.

Having to wake a sleeping baby to take them out of a car isn’t anyone’s favorite pastime.

Key Frustrations

  • Hard to install.
  • LATCH strap doesn’t tighten enough.
  • Unusually wide.
  • It lacks sufficient padding.
  • There are limited recline options.
  • Not compatible with any travel system.

Unique Installation

Parents who utilize the My Ride 65 complain about how difficult it is to install. It’s important to mention the unique installation method used to make this seat work well. 

First, note that the gray feet on the bottom of the seat must be flipped outward to install the My Ride 65 in a forward-facing position. Tuck in the same feet when installing the car seat in a rear-facing position.

Additionally, you should note that it’s easier to install the My Ride 65 rear-facing when you pull up the fabric cover by the cup holder.  Pulling the seat belt or LATCH strap up through this hole will also give you a better angle when tightening.

Specifications

  • Seat weight = 15 pounds
  • Overall height = 27 inches
  • Overall width = 21 inches

What We Like

  • Rear-facing up to 40 pounds.
  • Forward-facing up to 65 pounds.
  • EPS Energy-Absorbing Foam.
  • LATCH installation.
  • FAA approved for airline travel.
  • Infant insert included.
  • Two integrated cup holders.
  • Machine-washable cover and padding.
  • Front-adjust five-point harness.
  • Three harness length settings

What We Don’t Like 

  • Hard to install.
  • Difficult to tighten securely.
  • Big and bulky.
  • No recline options.
  • Not compatible with strollers

Expiration

An expiration date for the Graco My Ride 65 Convertible Car Seat can be found stamped on the bottom or on the back of the seat itself.  All My Ride 65 models will expire six years from the date of manufacture.

Recalls

In 2017, Graco issued a massive recall on more than 25,000 My Ride 65 car seats. During a routine crash test, the webbing on specific seats did not meet federal requirements for break strength. This potential failure could cause the webbing to break, which wouldn’t keep children restrained if involved in a crash.

Graco sent registered consumers a recall notice, a replacement harness, and instructions on how to install it.  Those who didn’t register can find extensive recall information on the Graco website.  Affected model numbers and manufacturing dates include:  

  • 1908152 – 5/20/14 -7-15-14
  • 1813074 – 5/16/14 – 8/1/14
  • 1872691 – 5/26/14 – 7/27/14
  • 1853478 – 7/11/14 – 7/27/14
  • 1871689 – 7/5/14 – 7/24/14
  • 1877535 – 7/3/14 – 7/24/14
  • 1813015 – 6/20/14 – 7/27/14
  • 1794334 – 7/23/14 – 7/27/14

If your model is under the recall, you can contact the company directly for your replacement packet.

Comparing And Contrasting Graco Car Seats

Graco offers an extensive line of convertible car seats for parents to choose from.  We can be confident that all lines meet or exceed all federal safety standards. They will also provide us with the multitude of features that we come to expect with Graco products, but what’s the difference?  And why should we choose one model over another?

My Ride 65 Vs. My Ride 65 LX

The Graco My Ride 65 LX was released to complement the existing My Ride 65 line.  These two virtually identical models are not only the same size but offer the same standard safety and use features that you see in the My Ride 65.

The only difference you’re going to find between these two convertible car seats lies on the inside. 

As its name suggests, the My Ride 65 LX is the ‘luxury’ model sporting plush fabric and enhanced padding in the headrest to keep kiddos riding more comfortably.  As you can imagine, the LX also comes at a higher price point.

Similarities

  • Use as a rear-facing and a forward-facing safety seat.
  • Affordable
  • EPS Energy-Absorbing Foam
  • LATCH
  • Level indicator
  • FAA approved
  • Removable infant insert
  • Front-adjust harness
  • Three harness length settings
  • Two integrated cup holders
  • Machine-washable cover

Differences

  • Plush fabric.
  • More padding in the headrest.
  • Higher price point.

Graco My Ride 65 Vs. Contender 65

Another similar 2-in-1 option is the Graco Contender 65.  While this seat has identical safety ratings as My Ride 65, it includes a few updated features that parents might enjoy. 

The Contender 65 comes with the Simply Safe Harness System allowing parents to adjust the headrest and harness together in one fell swoop, without the pain of rethreading.  It also has one additional recline position that may help ease installation and keep kids more comfortable when they’re on the go.

Similarities

  • Use as a rear-facing and a forward-facing safety seat.
  • Affordable
  • EPS Energy-Absorbing Foam
  • LATCH
  • Level indicator
  • FAA approved
  • Removable infant insert
  • Three harness length settings
  • Machine-washable cover

Differences

  • Simply Safe Harness System
  • One additional recline position
  • One integrated cup holder.

My Ride 65 Vs. My Size 65

Graco Size 65 may come at a higher price point than the My Ride 65, but it also extends a few of the features. 

Additional features include a three-position recline for easier installation and rear-facing comfort in addition to two upgraded safety components, a Simply Safe Harness System and the InRight LATCH system. 

Simply Safe lets parents seamlessly adjust the harness and the headrest together in a straightforward motion. Complete InRight LATCH installation can in just one second, as opposed to the standard LATCH installation included on the My Right 65.

Similarities

  • Use as a rear-facing and a forward-facing safety seat.
  • Affordable
  • EPS Energy-Absorbing Foam
  • Level indicator
  • FAA approved
  • Removable infant insert
  • Three harness length settings
  • Machine-washable cover

Differences

  • Simply Safe Harness System
  • InRight LATCH installation
  • One integrated cup holder.

Graco My Ride 65 Vs. Nautilus 65

Parents are going to find the most significant number of differences between the My Ride 65 and the Nautilus 65.  First and foremost, the Nautilus 65 is a different type of safety seat.

Designed as a 3-in-1 convertible car seat, use the Nautilus 65 as a harnessed booster, a high-back booster, and a backless booster to accomodate toddlers and big kids from 22 to 100 pounds.

It’s important to note that the Nautilus 65 does not have a rear-facing option. Another big difference you’re going to see is that the Nautilus 65 has a steel-reinforced frame for increased strength and durability. 

Weighing in at 20 pounds, it will give you a workout if you need to carry it around. You’re also going to find open-loop belt guides that will help simplify installation. The Nautilus 65 is also equipped with upgraded features like the Simply Safe Harness System and a three-position recline for extended comfort.  Contoured armrests even include a cup holder and storage pockets.

Similarities:

  • Affordable
  • EPS Energy-Absorbing Foam
  • Level indicator
  • FAA approved
  • Machine-washable cover

Differences:

  • 3-in-1 convertible car seat – harnessed booster, high-back booster, backless booster.
  • Steel-reinforced frame.
  • Open-loop belt guides for installation.
  • Simply Safe Harness System.
  • Three-position recline.
  • Contoured armrests with one cup holder and storage.

Frequently Asked Questions

1.How do I remove the cover on my Graco My Ride 65 convertible car seat?

The Graco My Ride 65 seat cover can be removed by following a few easy steps

  • Uninstall and remove the seat from your car.
  • Flip it upside down and open the plastic legs.
  • Release and pull out the harness.
  • Unsnap the cover from the front of the car seat.
  • Remove the cover completely from the seat.

Refer to your My Ride 65 Manual for more detailed instructions.

2.How much does the Graco My Ride 65 weigh?

15 pounds.

3.Is Graco My Ride 65 FAA approved?

Yes, My Ride 65 is FAA approved for airplane travel.  Make sure to check with your airline, however, because the seat is really wide. It’s possible that the seat won’t fit on an airplane seat unless you lift the armrests. 

This could be an issue on some airplanes.

Good Choice For The Budget Cautious 

Graco My Ride 65 might be an excellent choice for budget-cautious parents who don’t need to move the seat around often. 

Admittedly, My Ride 65 is pretty basic, but it’s suitable for kids from 4-65 pounds, is continuously crash-tested, and meets or exceeds all federal safety standards. Once you get the hang of installation, this might be an affordable option for many families.

Author

Welcome to my car seat blog! As a mom of 3, I put together with other hard-working moms a highly informative one-stop car seat resource, full with many reviews and buyer guides. I hope you find it invaluable. Thank you for trusting me & my team! - Keren

Write A Comment