Booster Seat Requirements NY: New York Booster Car Seat Laws And Booster Seat Requirements + Fines

booster car seat requirements ny
Table of Contents
    Add a header to begin generating the table of contents

    Booster seat requirements NY: As a parent, ensuring children’s protection on the road and following New York car seat laws is a responsibility you cannot overlook. 

    The city that never sleeps has sobering statistics of children in hospital beds annually due to car accident injuries. To reduce these accidents, the car seat laws in New York stipulate that children under two must ride in rear-facing car seats in the car’s back seat. Toddlers till age four must be seated in federally approved car boosters.

    Booster seat requirements in NY are guidelines that provide essential protection for you and your children against the unpredictability of the road. In this article, I will shed light on car seat requirements in New York, from rear-facing seats for infants to booster seats for growing toddlers. If you read to the end, you will learn about car seat laws and violation penalties. By navigating these regulations, you, as a caregiver, can ensure safer road journeys and fewer legal hurdles in New York.

    New York State Car Seat Laws: What Type of Seat Should I Use?

    booster seat laws ny

    According to New York car seat laws, children under eight must use appropriate child safety restraint systems. Given the potential for accidents, non-compliance to these laws may result in fines. The selection of a suitable car seat is linked to children’s age, weight, and height.

    You can use rear-facing, forward-facing, and booster seats in New York. You can use the recommended car seats based on age. The car seat finder by NHTSA is also a great resource to help you select a suitable seat for your child.

    Using A Rear-Facing Seat In New York (Infant Seats)

    New York enforces a strict infant seat law, requiring children under 2 to ride in a rear-facing car seat. The New York Department of Motor Vehicles recommends using the infant seat fitted at the vehicle’s back seat, away from any passenger-side airbags.

    New York State law doesn’t specify exact age or weight criteria for rear-facing seats. To prioritize safety, you must keep your child in the back for as long as possible. Violation of New York’s rear-facing child seat law carries a penalty ranging from a minimum of $25 to a maximum of $100. Therefore, you must follow the manufacturer’s size and age instructions when getting a seat for your child.

    Using A Forward-Facing Seat In New York (Convertible Car Seats)

    Children under four who have outgrown rear-facing seats are required by New York’s forward-facing car seat law to be seated in convertible car seats. New York’s car seat law states that you should keep children weighing under 40 pounds in a forward-facing seat. 

    Disregarding forward-facing child seat law in New York can result in a penalty ranging from $25 to $100. Always follow the height and weight specifications laid out by the manufacturers to maximize your child’s safety.

    Using A Booster Seat In New York State

    As per booster seat laws in NY, you must use booster seats if your child is between ages 4 and 8. The booster seat is for children below 4 feet 9 inches tall and 40 to 80 lbs in weight.

    Progression to booster seats is recommended for children who surpass the size requirements for forward-facing seats. Legally, the children should use booster seats till they can safely use the car’s restraint system for adults.

    Using A Built-in Car Seat

    New York car seat laws prohibit using built-in car seats for the transportation of children. The majority of modern vehicles offer built-in child safety seats. These seats might not meet your specific requirements, mainly as your child develops.

    When Were Booster Seats Introduced?

    Booster seats were initially introduced in the early 1930s to raise children to a height where they were more visible to the driving parent. The focus on child safety came around in 1962, with seat designs dedicated to child protection.

    At What Age Or Height Can A Child Transition From A Car Seat To A Booster Seat in New York?

    booster seat requirements ny

    To transition to a booster seat from a convertible car seat in New York, your child must be:

    • Between the ages of 4 and 8
    • Weigh 40 to 80 pounds
    • Shorter than 4 feet, 9 inches

    When Can My Child Use A Seat Belt Without A Booster Seat?

    Your child can use a seat belt without a booster seat if:

    • They are eight years or older.
    • They have a height of at least 4 feet, 9 inches.
    • They weigh more than 100 pounds.

    The New York seat belt law states that all passengers aged eight and above should wear seat belts. The law was regulated at the end of 2020, making seat belts mandatory for all passengers, regardless of where they are seated. The fine for not wearing a seatbelt is $50.

    To use a seat belt for your child, make sure they: 

    • Use the seat belt properly to sit upright against the car’s seat. 
    • The child’s knees should naturally bend over the edge of the seat. 
    • The shoulder belt should fit comfortably on the child’s chest without touching their throat. 
    • The lap belt should be placed securely on the thighs. 
    • A booster seat with a seat belt is recommended if the lap and shoulder belts do not fit properly.

    Seat Belt Requirements For Children Of School Bus

    The state of New York has obliged school buses to have seat belts accessible to every occupant. The bus driver must wear a seat belt, while children under four years must be seated in federally certified child safety seats.

    Places To Get Booster Seat Checked Or Installed In New York

    Nine out of ten car seats are not installed properly, underscoring the importance of inspecting the car seats. Using the NHTSA resources, you can quickly locate the closest car seat inspection or installation station by filling in your city name, state, or zip code.

    In New York, certified child passenger safety (CPS) technicians can check or install your booster seat at various stations. Here are some of the stations that offer this service:

    What Are The Consequences Of Not Complying With The Booster Seat Laws In New York?

    Failure to comply with booster seat laws in New York can lead to fines and penalties. You can get a fine of $50 for violating seat laws in New York. If a child under 16 is involved, the driver can receive a fine of up to $100 and three points on the driving license upon conviction.

    According to New York car seat laws, law enforcement can stop a vehicle if they suspect improper restraint usage by a passenger or the driver. Therefore, you should comply with booster seat laws to ensure your child’s safety and avoid penalties in New York.

    Can A Car Seat Be Used Next To An Airbag In New York State?

    New York state law doesn’t prohibit using a car seat next to an airbag. Universally, pediatricians and auto safety experts do not recommend placing your child’s car seat in front of an Airbag.

    Airbags are secure for individuals who can use a lap and shoulder belt. But airbags can lead to fatal injuries for your children. When a rear-facing car seat is used, the airbag can inflate and hit the child’s head. This can also push the car seat into the front seat, which is dangerous for a baby’s head. 

    Head injuries due to airbags are more common in infants. For your child’s safety, make them sit in the back of the vehicle until they reach a height of at least 5 feet.

    New York State Taxi Car Seat Laws

    New York’s taxi child seat law exempts taxis from providing car seats for young passengers. The passengers cannot hold the taxi driver accountable for not having a child restraint system.

    As a parent in New York, you must arrange a car seat for your child when traveling in a taxi. However, your choice of carrying a booster or a rear-facing car seat should align with New York’s child seat regulations.

    The Booster Seat Requirements NY vs. Alaska Booster Seat Law

    Alaska and New York have booster seat laws to enhance child safety during travel. While Alaska requires booster seats for children aged 4 to 15, the New York state mandates them for children between 4 and 8.

    Both states prioritize child protection with varying age, height, and weight considerations. Here is the comparison of New York booster seat laws with Alaska’s laws:

    New York Booster Seat LawAlaska Booster Seat Law
    Children between 4 and 8 years old should use a booster seatChildren aged 4 to 15 are required to use a booster seat
    Children shorter than 4 feet, 9 inches should use a booster seatChildren under 57″ should use a booster seat
    Children weighing between 40 to 80 pounds should use a booster seatChildren weighing between 20 and 64 lbs are required to use a booster seat

    You can check the laws of each state on GHSA| Child Passenger Safety laws.


    The state of New York has regulated its car seat guidelines while keeping the focus on children’s age, weight, and height.

    The New York car seat law covers all developmental stages by emphasizing rear-facing seats for infants and forward-facing seats for children under 4 or 40 pounds. Moreover, the booster seat requirements in NY demand booster seats for children between 4 and 8 years old or shorter than 4 feet and 9 inches.

    Non-compliance with these regulations can lead to fines ranging from $25 to $100. To make an informed choice, consider reading our insightful reviews on the top 7 booster seats available here.


    What are the booster seat requirements in New York?

    The car seat requirements in New York state that children between the ages of 4 and 8 who have outgrown their forward-facing car seat should use a booster seat.

    Can my 10-year-old sit in the front seat in New York?

    According to New York law, children under 13 must ride in the vehicle’s backseat.

    Are there any specific weight restrictions for booster seats in New York?

    Yes, the New York car seat law states that children weighing between 40 and 80 pounds should use a booster seat.

    What is the age and weight limit for booster seats in New York?

    New York law dictates that children under eight or weighing approximately 80 pounds should be seated in the booster seat. New York State also emphasizes the importance of adhering to your car seat manufacturer’s height and weight requirements.

    Avatar of Brenton


    Receive the latest news

    Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

    Get notified about new articles